My hand to heaven – more on maritime charts and globes

Stolfo 2
manuscript of Nicolo Stolfo, ‘Geografia, E Del Navigare’1499; Peloponesso Del Pausana Illustrate Da Pini; Historiandi Scio Der Giustinano; Portoloano Archipelago E Morea. description and image Courtesy of UPenn. Schoenberg database.

This manuscript is held in the Library of Congress, Rare Book and Special Collections Division.

The library of Congress also holds a rhumb-gridded “portolan” chart dated to 1320.

Listed here.

See also my earlier posts on hand-calculations, -gestures and -mnemonics. (search ‘hand’).

If any kind soul would care to translate the page – which I think potentially very important, do email me at voynichimagery AT gmail DOT com won’t you and I’ll post your translation here.

Or, if you have your own blog/page etc., I hope you’ll send me a link.

Do we have a biography of Nicolo Stolfo?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Reply to “My hand to heaven – more on maritime charts and globes”

Leave a Reply

